#FootballMogul2012: 1.1 -Introduction

I have to write out “Football Mogul” because it would be way too confusing on a Football Manager blog to abbreviate that to “FM”. Wouldn’t want to accidentally deceive someone!

This is a bit of a different blog idea. I found a game developer called Sports Mogul Inc. who make baseball and American football games where you’re basically the general manager of a Major League Baseball or National Football League team. It’s not as in-depth as Football Manager or Out of the Park Baseball, which is basically an in-depth baseball equivalent to FM, but it is something different to do.

I’ve not outright said it, I don’t think, but it’s not a secret anyway that I’m an American. I love association football and watch the hell out of it, but baseball and American football are our true national sports and pastimes. I know I’m a competent soccer manager, but can I be a successful general manager/head coach of a National Football League team as well?

Before I get into the details of my game series, I want to say that if you go to the Sports Mogul Inc website, Baseball Mogul 2006 and Football Mogul 2012 are both free games to download, though the other versions are paid.

I also want to disclaim that this save and these screenshots are the very first time I’ve ever clicked on and loaded this game. I’m testing the waters on this game with the free version after finding and looking it up online.

The cool part about this game and the Baseball Mogul game is that there are historical rosters and you can start Football Mogul in particular as early as the 1970 season with rosters that, from a glance, look reasonable accurate.

For this save, I’m starting the season at the start of the 2001 season. 2001 was the first season I really got into sports as a young 9 year old kid, and the Patriots were the team who were in the Superbowl at the time, so I kinda adopted them as my team because their logo looked cool, and I’ve been a fan ever since.

5357_new_england_patriots-wordmark-2013

The 2001 season is notable to New England for being its first Super Bowl win and kick-starting their turning into a big name in the NFL.

2016-12-24

Going into the details about the home screen, we can see that the team of 2001 has a loyal fan base of 3.2 million, with a fan income of $28k. Franchise statistics show that the team is worth $290m, the stadium capacity is just over 60k, and the player payroll is $62.8m. Notable players include a young Tom Brady, who was only in his second season with New England, veteran quarterback Drew Bledsoe, who was in his last season with New England, if I remember right, an a couple of leftbacks and rightbacks that I don’t remember off-hand. I was nine when they went into the Super Bowl, after all!

The game difficulty is set to “Fan”, which is the easiest of Fan, Coach, Head Coach, and Mogul difficulties. As I said, it’s my first time playing so I don’t plan on doing any hard difficulties right away.

According to the Football Mogul website, the advanced options are:

Shuffle Players
This randomly distributes all the players in the league. If you’ve gotten tired of starting with the standard team rosters, you may wish to choose this option and see how you do with a random selection of league players to start with.

Random Players
Football Mogul will create a league of completely random and fictional players and distribute them randomly. This may require some initial trading and player signing on your part to put a complete team on the field.

Equalize Cities
A team’s success in Football Mogul depends largely on the resources of it’s home city. Checking ‘Equalize Cities’ causes all cities to be given the same population and financial stats. This will put all teams on a level playing field as far as monetary resources. When running a league, you can combine this feature with a draft (using Roster File) or with Shuffle Players to create a more balanced game. Team financial stats are equalized only if you choose Equalize Cities AND Shuffle players.

Simulation Mode
Part of what makes Football Mogul enjoyable is the degree of unpredictability each time you play. One young player might develop into a superstar the first time you play, and be mediocre the next. Simulation Mode removes much of this randomness from Football Mogul. Players will mature and age along pretty much the same career path every time you play in Simulation Mode. This is useful if you wish to use Football Mogul as a tool to predict the outcome of a football season or a player’s career. Or if you just prefer a more predictable version of the game.

Fantasy Draft
Football Mogul will start the game with a Fantasy Draft, letting you pick your team from all available players (with computer-controlled teams taking their turns).

I’m not ticking any of these options, as I want to experience the game as it comes and I want to have a more random and unpredictable league season.

In theory, this game can run for 100 seasons, but for the blog I only plan to document one. This post has already run to nearly 900 words, and I’ve not shared anything at all about the team, so I’ll do that on the next blog post.

That next blog post will show the main game interface, as well as the team roster for the start of the season, and some random bits and bobs that can be looked at and tinkered with in-game.

If this seems interesting to you, then keep an eye out!

Leave a Reply

